Dr. Angela Mailis A Legacy of Excellence in Pain Management

Dr. Mailis has been at the forefront of pioneering approaches in the diagnosis, treatment, and understanding of chronic pain. This overview encapsulates her profound contributions to the medical community and the lives of countless individuals.

Discover Dr. Angela Mailis's Achievements: A testament to her excellence in pain management, her role as a patient advocate, medicolegal expert, and educator.

Exemplary and Innovative Practice

Dr. Mailis’s contributions extend beyond organizational roles to the establishment of landmark programs and clinics:

Established one of the oldest multidisciplinary pain programs for diagnosis/management of chronic pain at the Toronto Western Hospital/ University Health Network, the Comprehensive Pain Program (CPP), which she directed for 33 years (1982-2015)

Obtained all-inclusive funding from the Alternative Payment Program, Ontario Ministry of Health since 1990, for support of clinical and academic activities of the CPP 

Created a popular training program for residents and clinical fellows and the first pain fellowship, attracting Canadian and international trainees, since 1990 

Was instrumental in the amalgamation of the TWH/UHN Comprehensive Pain Program and the TRI to form the Comprehensive Integrated Pain Program (CIPP) of UHN in March 2015

Founder of the Pain and Wellness Centre (PWC), the first academic community-based interdisciplinary pain clinic serving the regions of York, Durham, Peel, Halton, Dufferin and Simcoe and directly linked with the UHN/CIPP, (September 2014)

Obtained MOHLTC public funding as of April 1, 2016. As of April 1, 2018, the centre became “evergreen” with permanent annualized funding 

The PWC became an Educational Hub for training of Pain Medicine Residents and Physical Medicine residents as o 2016, offering electives to Family Practice residents and undergraduate students

The PWC was proclaimed the 11th Veterans Clinic in Canada, July 2020 by the Chronic Pain Centre of Excellence (CP CoE) for Veterans

The PWC signed an agreement with the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College to train their residents (August 2023)


Awards & Recognitions

Dr. Mailis’s journey is marked by numerous accolades and recognitions, a testament to her dedication and expertise. Her career milestones include:

National Greek Scholarship
Gold Medalist, U of Athens, Greece
Hellenic Women’ Coming of Age Celebration Award
Div. of Physiatry, UofT, Achievement Award
Nominated as RBC Top75 Influential Canadian immigrants
Can. Pain Society, Harold Merskey Award
Div. of Physiatry, UofT Academic Contribution Award
Salute to Women (Daughters of Penelope) Recognition Award
Nominated for GIWA award (Health and Science)
Top Choice Awards for best Wellness Clinic in Vaughan
Div. of Physiatry, UofT Community Achievement Award,
Top Choice Awards for best Wellness Clinic in Vaughan
Nominated for the RBC Canadian Women Entrepreneur Awards
Recipient of the Canadian Pain Society Distinguished Career Award,
Top Choice Awards for best Wellness Clinic in Vaughan

Founding Member / Member

Dr. Mailis has significantly shaped the medical landscape through her leadership and initiative.

• Founding Member, Hellenic Canadian Medical Association of Ontario (1983)
• President, Hellenic Canadian Medical Association (1999 – 2003)
• Founder & co-ordinator, Pain Interested Group of Toronto (1985 –1989)
• Founding Member of the Inter-urban Pain Association of Ontario (Chapter of the Canadian Pain Society) (1991) and Chair of the Toronto chapter
• Founding Member, IASP Special Interest Group, Pelvic and Urogenital Pain Syndromes (1998)
• Founding Member/current member, U of T Centre for the Study of Pain (1996 – present)
• Member of the expert CRPS group of the International Association for the Study of Pain (1995)
• Member, International Board, Pain Management, organizing committee on Pelvic Floor International Conference, Montreal (1998)
• Reviewer for the Institute for Work and Health for WSIB expert panel (1998 –1999)
• Organizer and Chair, International Neuropathic Pain Symposium, Toronto (2000)
• Member of the Expert Panel in the AHCPR contract on Management of Chronic Central Neuropathic Pain following Traumatic Spinal Cord Injury (2000)
• Founding Member of the Chronic Pain Module (1997 -2000), project CREATE, enriching the medical curricula of all 5 medical schools in Ontario.
• Founding member/chair ACTION for people with Neuropathic Pain (2005– 2022).